Keeping Our Faculty

Transforming Our Institutions: Advancing Inclusive Excellence Among Faculty in Higher Education

The Keeping Our Faculty VI Symposium was held April 14-16, 2013, at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis campus. View the program and abstracts from the 2013 event below.

  • View the 2013 Symposium Final Program and Abstract Book

Symposium Goals

The symposium is focused on bringing together scholars committed to understanding and promoting faculty diversity to articulate a national research agenda for advancing faculty diversity in higher education.

The symposium will feature keynote speakers, concurrent sessions, social events, and opportunities for issues and ideas to be discussed.

Who Should Attend

College and university researchers, scholars, administrators, and policy makers from all disciplines are encouraged to attend.

Confirmed Keynote Speakers

Kimberlé Crenshaw, J.D., L.L.M., Professor of Law, University of California, Los Angeles, and Columbia Law School

Kimberly A. Griffin, Ph.D, Associate Professor, College of Education, University of Maryland

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D, President, The University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Baltimore, Maryland.

University of Minnesota Symposium Planning Committee

Heidi Barajas, Associate Dean, College of Education and Human Development, Director of Urban Research and Outreach-Engagement Center
Arlene E. Carney, Vice Provost, Office of Faculty and Academic Affairs 
Lori Graven, Departmental Director, College of Continuing Education 
Geoff Maruyama, Professor of Educational Psychology
*Louis Mendoza, Professor and Chair of Chicano Studies; Associate Vice Provost, Office for Equity and Diversity 
Jean O’Brien, Professor, Department of History, Chair of American Indian Studies
Rebecca Ropers-Huilman, Professor and Chair, Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy, & Development; Affiliate, Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies
*Catherine Squires, Cowles Professor of Journalism, Diversity and Equality, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Paul J. Strykowski, Professor and Associate Dean, College of Science and Engineering

*Symposium Co-chairs

For further content information, contact Dr. Michael Goh,